Music Corner

We will soon be introducing more information on Carnatic Music.


Kalavanta 2017- Invite

Karnataka Fine Arts Council invites young artists for the Kalavanta 2017 awards! For full details, please see the invite

Article about the Institute in Sep'16 issue of Sruti

Page 1 of the article

Page 2 of the article

Page 3 of the article

Page 4 of the article

The Institute chosen for Karnataka Kalashree award

8-Oct-2015: The Karnataka Sangeetha Nrithya Academy has chosen Sri Rama Lalitha Kalamandira for the prestigious Karnataka Kalashree award for this year, with the institute being the only organization, among 18 artistes, which is rare.
News report

Vidwan Sri G.V Krishna Prasad honoured

Vishesha Fine Arts in its Annual Vishesha Utsava - 2015 honoured 3 significant individuals: Padmasri Sangeetha Kalanidhi Dr. N. Ramani, Mridangam Vidwan G.V. Krishna Prasad, Hon. Secretary Sri Rama Lalitha Kala Mandira and Mridangam Vidwan K.U. Jayachandra Rao. G.V. Krishna Prasad was honoured with the title VISHESHA KALAPOSHAKA and cash award with citation and memorable memento.

Quarterly Newsletter being launched: We have launched a quarterly music newsletter in October 2013 during Dasara. The next edition, for January 2015, giving details of Sankrathi and Spring Music Festivals of 2015, is released. Please acess the latest quarerly newsletter here

Awards Announced for 2013-14

Vasantha Sangeethotsavam

Review of Raga Vaibhavam

Article in Gayana Samrajya, June 2012

Article in Sruti - page 1

Article in Sruti - page 2

Award for Founder of California branch of the Institute

Tributes to Smt. Ranganayaki and Memoirs

Article in Prajavani

Praise for her in Vijaya Karnataka

Praise for the Sisters

Down Memory Lane - page1

Down Memory Lane - page2

The Institution

We are one of the premier Institutions of Music and in service of Carnatic Music for over five decades. A niche has been  carved in imparting education in various facets of this divine art. The great efforts and dedication of the founders have laid a strong foundation to promote Carnatic Music. We have encouraged many musicians and budding artists since inception. Our continued association with musicians of great repute has put us on a firm footing. 

We impart training in Vocal, Veena, Violin and Mridangam and also arrange programmes for the music lovers from time to time. [ More info..]

Souvenir commemorating the 50th year of Punyamarane of the founder released

A souvenir, containing memorabilia on the occassion of the 50th year of the passing away of the founder Sri G. Vendantam Iyengar, has been released. Those who are interested can contact the institute's general secretary in the evenings at the institute and collect their copy

Important Upcoming Programs

DateDay Time Programme & Artists
15-May-2016Sunday5:30PM Veena Recital by Vidushi S.V. Sahana of Mysore
Mridanga : Vidwan H.S. Sudheendra
Ghatam : Vidwan Ranganatha Chakravarthi
21, 22 May 2016Saturday&Sunday4PM-7PM Workshop by Vidwan G. Ravikiran
Sub: Rare kritis of Muthuswamy Dikshitar
25-29 May, 2016Wed-SundaySee brochureKarnataka Fine Arts Council presents Kalavanta 2016, an International-level Carnatic Youth music festival
Venue: Seva Sadan, Malleswaram
For full details, click here
12-Jun-2016Sunday5:30PM Vidwan T.V. Shankaranarayanan - Vocal
Vidwan Nagai Muralidharan - Violin
Vidwan Mannargudi A. Eshwaran- Mridangam
Vidwan G.S.Ramanuman - Ghatam
Venue: J.P.Nagar Dental College Auditorium
19-Jun-2016Sunday5:30PM Veena Recital by S.G. Srilatha & Party
17-Jul-2016Sunday5:30PM Vocal concert by Smt. Sumithra Vasudev
Sri Ashwin Anand - on Veena
Sri K. Arun Prakash on Mridangam
14-Aug-2016Sunday6:00PM Musical discourse in English by Smt. Vishaka Hari
Subject : Sri Krishna Leela
Accompaniments: Charulatha Ramanujam - on Violin
Arjun Ganesh - on Mridangam
Sukanya Ramgopal - Ghatam
Venue: Sri Devagiri Venkateshwara Temple
For more details please see the invitation
21-Aug-2016Sunday5:30PM Vocal cncert by Bhargavi Venkatram
Apoorva Krishna - on Violin
Akshay Anand - on Mridangam
Ganesh Murthy - on Ghatam
18-Sep-2016Sunday5:30PM Vocal concert by Amritha Murali
B.K. Raghu on Violin
Akshay Anand on Mridangam
This is continuation of MS Subbalakshmi Centenary Program
16-Oct-2016Sunday5:30PM Vocal concert by Savitha Narasimhan
Charulatha Ramanujam on Violin
K.U. Jayachandra Rao on Mridangam
This is continuation of MS Subbalakshmi Centenary Program
21-23-Oct-2016Fri-Sunday Music Festival programmes in collaboration with Suswaralaya College of Music
1-Nov-2016Tuesday5:30PM Heramba & Hemantha Flute duet
Mathrur R. Srinidhi Violin
B.C. Manjunath Mridanga
G. Omkar Rao- Ghata

Sankranthi & Spring Music Festival 2017

Sankranti Music Festival of 2017 in January and Spring Music Festival in February are announced.

Sankranthi Music Festival: Jan 1-10, 2017 at The institute

Spring Music Festival: 7-12, Feb 2017 @ Gayana Samaja Auditorium

For full details of the programmes, please click here

Programmes are open to all rasikas. Admission is free ; all are requested to be seated 15 minutes prior to the commencement of the concert and stay till the completion of Tani Avarthanam and Mangalam by the artists. Liberal donations are welcome and donations are exempted under 80G of I.T. Act.

G.V. Krishna Prasad - Hon. Secretary

G.V.Neela - Chief Founder